Day 8: Share something you struggle with

Hmmm, not really going to take me long this one.

Endometriosis. I’ve fought it, hated it and resisted it for so long. It has torn up my insides, shattered me with 11 out of 10 agony, put me into contact with the ineptitude and butchery of a multitude of careless doctors, made a grave of my womb, tried to destroy my career and social life, drenched my bed, sucked my serotonin to negative levels, made exercise impossible, caused me to wail at the unfairness of the world and covet the apparent ease of others’ lives.

However, since my operation in August 2014 with Mr Trehan I have been recovering and I cannot believe the miracle he has worked. It will take a while yet for my tummy to fully heal and now I am beginning to accept that this experience is part of me. 

For the first time since I was 17 I have pain-free days and I can make plans that don’t revolve around my periods. I can work full-time, I’ve started to exercise and I am feeling excited about the future. Who’d have thunk it?

The struggle I now have is making periods a normal subject, an open topic in conversation. Why are we hiding them? Who is it benefiting? The lack of research, funding and thoughtful advice for a condition that robs women of quality of life and fertility is shocking and a product of a misogyny that needs to be challenged and overturned. Now.

I’ll do all I can to help anyone I know who has endometriosis so that they are treated with the respect they deserve by the medical profession and can make the best of their lives.



One response to “Day 8: Share something you struggle with

Leave a Reply

