Nice cream – chocolate & pistachio coconut ice cream: gluten-free, dairy-free, paleo, yum

Nice cream

Nice cream

I finally got round to making chocolate and pistachio coconut ice cream, as so brilliantly presented on Tabitha’s gluten-free dishes blog.  Apologies for the psychedelic colours above.

I only made half the recipe to see if it would work, as I’ve never made ice cream before and don’t have an ice cream maker.

Ingredients:

Les ingredients

Les ingredients

  • 1 can of organic coconut milk
  • 2 medium egg yolks
  • 1/4 cup of maple syrup
  • 4 tsp raw honey
  • 35g whole, shelled, unsalted pistachio nuts
  • 35g dairy-free dark chocolate (I used a mixture of Wonky Willie’s Cacao drops and Kinnerton dairy-, nut-, egg- and gluten-free chocolate)
  • 2 pinches of Maldon sea salt

For the recipe, click on this link – I’m not taking any credit for this one!: Tabitha’s amazing ice cream recipe

The frothy mixture

The frothy mixture

I was surprised at how simple the preparation was. I used a basic plastic tupperware-type container which I placed into the freezer and stirred regularly as Tabitha suggested – it had set within 15-ish hours.  I needed to take it out about 15 mins before we wanted to eat it as it had set so hard.  Next time I won’t put such dark chocolate in (85%) as the after taste was a bit much and I’ll measure the ingredients more carefully as I was a tad haphazard which could have affected the texture.

The taste:

It was half-sorbet, half-ice cream.  You can definitely taste the coconut but the immediate taste is the chocolate; the pistachios are chewy and delicious but for me it’s the chocolate that’s the star – like my old favourite ice creams with choc chunks in (mint choc chip anyone?!).  Although I never used to like ice cream that much, probably because it made me ill – now I am converted.

Thanks Tabitha for the idea, and just for being so lovely! 🙂

Leave a Reply

